All bequests to Downside Abbey are exempt from Inheritance Tax. Make personal bequests up to the Tax threshold and leave the rest to Downside rather than the Chancellor. 

In June 2011 HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) issued proposals to encourage charitable giving on death. For deaths on or after 6 April 2012, it is proposed that estates that include charitable legacies of at least 10% of the net estate (after the current nil rate band of £325k) will benefit from a 36% rate of IHT (compared with the main IHT rate of 40%). More information can be found here.

To remember Downside Abbey in your will you must quote our Registered Charity Number 1158507. 

The uncertainty of costs in later life for you and your loved ones can make it difficult to make donations for causes you care about, however, many people make charitable donations as part of their estate planning.

Members of the Petre Society have pledged a legacy to Downside.

We are very grateful to the members and every autumn they are invited to a private Mass in the Abbey Church followed by a convivial lunch with the members of the Monastic Community in residence. 

Petre Society Members

Leslie Addington (B41)
Rudolph Agnew (S51)
Martin Appleby (S50)
Charles Atchley (B58)
Stanley Ball (R58)
David Barnett (C55)
Richard Beale (C53)
Patrick Branigan (R58)
Mike Brufal de Melgarejo (B56)
Michael Callender (C56)
John Carter (C63)
Tim Coghlan (U65)
Mark-Anthony Conti (S81)
John Dummings (S51)
Martin Cuss (S58)
Brian Donovan (C53)
Peter Edwards (C50)
Mary Eke
James Fairrie (R65)
Michael FitzGerald (S54)
Hans Fleischner (C45)
Sean Fox-Slater (R71)
John Gallagher (U70)
Robert Gibbons (B54)
Christopher Grievson (Ra62)
William Griffiths (S71)
Edward Hallinan (R55)
George Harby (R58)
Louis Harrison (S58)
Mark Heath (R62)
Edward Hutton (B70)
Oliver Jefferson (R72)
Ian Jessiman (R49)
Robert Langran (B49)
David Lawrence (R54)
John Ludlow (C82)
Michael MacKenzie (B55)
Nicholas Mander (S67)
Byard McHugh (B55)
James Midwood (C47)
David Morgan (R60)
Michael Noakes (S50)
Ian Norrington (B54)
John Nye
Michael Paine (S58)
Simon Parker (B47)
Bill Plomer (S47)
John Poland (B43)
Martin Powys-Lybbe (B57)
Edward Pryce (S57)
Peter Quincey Carter (B42)
Dick Richardson (R47)
Ann Ryan
John Scanlan (S54)
Aylward Shorter (B50)
Nigel Sill (S65)
Anton Simon (B70)
Justin Staples (C48)
Mark Steed (C71)
Thomas Sutcliffe
Christopher Tanfield
Michael Thesiger (B53)
Martin Tucker (R48)
Chris Von Patzelt (S66)
Anthony Warrington (C55)
John Webb (U60)
Daphne Westlake
Michael Weston-Burt (R59)
Elizabeth Williams
Peter Wilson (B59)

If you have any questions about how to become a member, please feel free to contact us:

Mrs Jess Newman
Director of External Communications
Email: jnewman@downside.co.uk
Tel: +44(0)1761 235158